Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Planning Commission

loons fife lake

The Fife Lake Area Planning Commission is a joint planning commission between the Village of Fife Lake & Fife Lake Township.

Regular Meetings of the Fife Lake Area Planning Commission are held on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:30pm at the Fife Lake Township Hall with the exception of the April 2022 meeting, which will be held on the third Tuesday, April 19, 2022.

Fife Lake Area Planning Commission
2022 Regular Meeting Schedule

Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Tuesday, July 12, 2022
Tuesday, August 9, 2022
Tuesday, September 13, 2022
Tuesday, October 11, 2022
Tuesday, November 8, 2022
Tuesday, December 13, 2022

Find meeting documents including agendas, minutes, and other documents below or on the documents page by clicking here.


The Fife Lake Area Planning Commission will hold a public hearing during its regularly scheduled meeting on May 10, 2022 at 6:30pm at the Fife Lake Township Hall, 134 Morgan Street, Fife Lake MI 49633. The hearing will be held to review and gather public input on the Village of Fife Lake’s Marijuana Zoning Ordinance.

Any questions can be directed to the Village of Fife Lake at 231-879-4291 or 616 Bates, Fife Lake, MI 49633, during normal office hours: Tuesday-Thursday 9am-3pm.

View the DRAFT Village Marijuana Ordinance here:


If you have any questions, concerns or special needs, please contact the township office at 231-879-3963 or by fax at 213-879-3146.  You can also email the zoning administrator at or the clerk at or contact us by mail at Fife Lake Township, P.O. Box 87, Fife Lake, MI  49633

Please Take Notice

The Township Planning Commission is appointed by the Township Board under the authority of the Township Planning Act, Public Act 168 of 1959 MCL 125.321, et seq.

The Township Board and Village Board created the Fife Lake Area Planning Commission by resolution and under the Township Zoning Act, Public Act 184 of 1943, MCL 127.271, et seq, the Township Board passed the powers, duties and responsibilities of the Zoning Board to the Planning Commission.

The Michigan Zoning Enabling Act, Public Act 110 of 2006 and Public Act 012 of 2008 repealed many of the former Acts, including 168 and 184 to provide updated working documents for Michigan Townships to utilize in their Planning and Zoning processes.

Membership of the Planning Commission consists of seven (7) members who are qualified township electors. One member of the five must also be a member of the elected Township Board. The Township Supervisor appoints the membership of the Planning Commission, with approval of the Township Board. The Township Supervisor may also remove members of the Planning Commission after a hearing, with approval of the Township Board. Generally appointment terms to the Planning Commission are for a three year period in a staggered rotation so not all member’s terms are expiring within the same year. Members may receive compensation as set by the Township Board.

Members of the Planning Commission elect among themselves a Chairperson, Vice-Chair and Secretary. These leadership appointments are for one year term, but can be renewed at the discretion of the Planning Commission membership.

The Planning Commission has a minimum of four (4) mandatory regular meetings per fiscal year per MCL 125.325. the Chairperson may call a special meeting by making a written request to the Secretary. All meetings must comply with the requirements of the Open Meetings Act.

The basic function of the Planning Commission is to make and adopt a plan for the township’s land use development. The Commission must hold at least one (1) public hearing before it adopts any portion of a plan. The final approval of any plan created by the Planning Commission must be presented to the Township Board for final approval.

Marcia EbyChairperson, Village Representative
Lisa LeedyVice Chairperson, Village Representative
Amanda ScottSecretary, Township Representative
David McGoughMember, Village Representative
Shane LewisMember, Township Representative
Dawn ZimmermanMember, Township Ex Officio Member
Tom RookusMember, At Large Representative
loons fife lake